The Dryden Observer

Your Source for Dryden News

Wood, Lindquist, Benham named DHS athletes of the year

Chris Marchand

Chris Marchand served as editor of the Dryden Observer from August 2009 to April 2018.
Male Athlete of the Year — Jed Benham (right) with father and former DHS?Athlete of the Year (1983) Dean Benham

By Chris Marchand

To call the 2014-15 athletic season at DHS anything less than remarkable, would do it a disservice.

The opening of a new track facility, a football squad who finished with an unheard of winning record of 4-3, an OFSAA bronze in girls hockey, hosting two ‘AA’ provincial high school championship volleyball tournaments and several more OFSAA appearances provided ample talking points in the 46th Annual Eagles Athletic Awards Banquet, June 11.

You could say it was also the year that individual sports forever changed how school sports and athletes are perceived at DHS.

Capturing Male Athlete of the Year was perhaps one of Eagles Athletics most amiable personalities, football lineman and senior basketball player and the last in a long line of athletic brothers, Jed Benham. Benham follows in the footsteps of his father Dean who captured the honour in 1983.

“I was very surprised to hear my name called tonight,” said Benham. “I didn’t even know my Dad had won it until about three days ago. Usually it goes to a guy who plays three or four sports. It means a lot. I don’t think any of my brothers got it, so it feels good to be the first Benham since my Dad to get it.”

Benham heads to Alberta in the fall to Lakeland College for a year of general agriculture studies and plans to return to the Dryden area.

Female Athletes of the Year — Co-winners Andie Wood (left) and Kyla Lindquist with DHS?Athletic Director Geoff Zilkalns. Photos by Chris Marchand

The Female Athlete of the Year honour was a split decision between two great athletes in Andie Wood and Kyla Lindquist.

Following a stellar cross-country running season, Andie Wood rolled her superb conditioning into a new sport, nordic skiing, and despite a lack of experience qualified for OFSAA championships. This spring Wood led a powerhouse Eagles Track and Field squad that took 11 NWOSSA golds in 17 events, breaking records that have stood for 50 years. She went on to take 5th in the steeplechase at OFSAA.

“Nordic skiing was a definite highlight,” said Wood. “I’d had it in Grade 10 Outdoor Ed, but that was a mess. Kyla could attest to that. But I think every athlete should get a chance to compete at an OFSAA, it’s amazing.”

Kyla Lindquist played key roles on multiple teams, including soccer (co-MVP), senior girls basketball, senior girls volleyball, and the OFSAA bronze winning girls hockey team (most dedicated) which earned her a gold ‘E’ letter award, along with her Athlete of the Year distinction. Between volleyball and hockey, Lindquist enjoyed an intense year of competition to the highest levels in the province.

“The OFSAA for hockey — it was great to go there with my team after all the hard work we put in,” she said. “Same for every team actually. Just getting to play with all those girls was an awesome experience.”

Wood and Lindquist had high praise for their coaches, teammates and official who made the season happen.

Female Rookie of the Year — Corrin Kuzemchuk

Sportswoman of the Year went to the indomitable Chelsea Martel who shared co-MVP honours with Elisa Mawby in senior girls volleyball and snagged the most dedicated award in senior girls basketball all the while battling knee injuries.

Sportsman of the Year went to Bruce Anderson (most improved senior basketball), a member of multiple teams who was lauded by several coaches for his attitude and coachability.

Female Rookie of the Year Corrin Kuzemchuk established herself as a rising star — qualifying for OFSAA four times in three sports (cross-country, nordic skiing and track and field) in her rookie year as an Eagle.

Thomas Moline took the Male Rookie of the Year Award.
Click here for a full gallery of the evening’s award winners 

Dryden High School Eagles 46th Eagles Athletic Awards, June 11, 2015


Most Dedicated – Kelsey Fenwick – Casually Hip (*sponsor)

Most Improved – Maya Oversby – Eagles Booster Club

Sportsman of the Year — Bruce Anderson

Girls Soccer

Most Valuable – Kyla Lindquist/Emmy Arsenault – Masala Restaurant

Most Improved – Payton Boyko – Dryden Youth Soccer

Boys Soccer

Most Valuable – Brendan Bartlett – Gould’s BrandSource

Most Improved – Graham Oliphant

Jr. Boys Volleyball

Most Valuable – Devan Schmidt – Home Hardware

Most Improved – Xavier Korzinski – Riverview Lodge

Jr. Girls Volleyball

Most Valuable – Monica Tourond – Riverview Lodge

Sportswoman of the Year — Chelsea Martel

Most Improved – Maya Nickle – Best Western Plus

Jr. Boys Basketball

Most Valuable – Jacob Bilous – Husky House Restaurant

Most Improved – Jared Vandenbrand/Mike Bell – Subway

Jr. Girls Basketball

Most Valuable – Jesscia Carter/Sarah Benson – Dryden GM

Most Improved – Marcie Coles – Tim Horton’s

Sr. Girls Volleyball

Most Valuable – Chelsea Martel/Elisa Mawby – Dryden Volleyball Club

Most Improved – Celena Brosseau – Dairy Queen

Most Dedicated (Pat Collins Award) – Chelsea Martel – Extra Foods

Sr. Boys Volleyball

Male Rookie of the Year — Thomas Moline

Most Valuable – Devon Noel – Northern Lights Credit Union

Most Improved – Zach Lugli – Walmart

Sr. Girls Basketball

Most Valuable – Emmy Arsenault – Standard Insurance Brokers

Most Improved – Jayne Pateman – Tremonti Family

Most Dedicated (Kathy Sanders Award) – Chelsea Martel – Sanders Family

Sr. Boys Basketball

Most Valuable – Brandon Thompson – Gardam Family

Most Improved – Bruce Anderson – Gillon’s Insurance


Defense – Jacob Bilous – McLeod Chiropractic

Offence – Braydon Hansson – Domino’s Pizza

Lineman – Jed Benham – Cran Family

Most Improved – Kyle Johnston – Pizza Hut

Track and Field

Most Valuable – Andie Wood/Elisa Mawby – PRT

Rookie – Taylor McLarty – PRT

Cross Country

Most Valuable – Andie Wood – PRT

Rookie – Corrin Kuzemchuk – PRT

Outstanding Performance – Jeremy Braun

Boys Badminton

Most Valuable Jr. – Thomas Moline – McKinstry Chrysler

Most Valuable Sr. – Jacob Mousseau – Safeway

Girls Badminton

Most Valuable Jr. – Monica Tourond – Iron Range Bus Lines

Most Valuable Sr. – Jordan Bakos – Young Drivers of Canada

Boys Hockey

Most Valuable – Matt Pitchenese – Dingwall Ford

Outstanding Contribution Award in Memory of Neil Fadden – Keith Wrolstad – Murphy’s Trophy Depot

Girls Hockey

Most Valuable – Cara Balla – Hagens Dressing Ltd.

Most Improved – Jacquie Grandmont – Dryden Girls Hockey

Most Dedicated – Kyla Lindquist – Kano Reid


Boys Most Valuable – Cam Zapitelli – Krantz Family

Girls Most Valuable – Rachel Getson – Bryck Family

Nordic Skiing

Most Valuable – Andie Wood – Dufresne Furniture

Most Improved – Corrin Kuzemchuk – Canadian Tire


Most Valuable – Tristan Thibault – Eagles Booster Club


Sportswoman of the Year – Chelsea Martel – Fenton Family

Sportsman of the Year – Bruce Anderson – Schultz Family

Female Rookie of the Year – Corrin Kuzemchuk – Zilkalns Family

Male Rookie of the Year – Thomas Moline – McDonald’s Restaurant

Female Athlete of the Year –Andie Wood/Kyla Lindquist – UNIFOR Union – Local 105

Male Athlete of the Year – Jed Benham – Domtar Inc.

NorWOSSA Michael Smith Award — Andie Wood

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.