The Dryden Observer

Your Source for Dryden News

Judo club wraps up season: Sanders named outstanding member

Chris Marchand

Chris Marchand served as editor of the Dryden Observer from August 2009 to April 2018.
Richard Krause of the Dryden School of Judo throwing a Marathon judoka with Drop Seoi-Nage (shoulder throw)
Krause won five out of seven fights by Full Ippon throws, placing gold in the Kenora Lake of the Woods Tournament, April 16. Photos courtesy Mark Burnell.

(Left) Isaac Sanders 2013/14 Most Outstanding Judosit of the season
and Dustin Landrie Most Improved. Photos courtesy Mark Burnell

By Dryden Observer Staff

The Dryden Judo Club wrapped up its 2013/14 season, April 14, handing out several promotions and awards among its members.

The club’s most prestigious award went to Isaac Sanders who was named Most Outstanding Judosit of the season.

Dustin Landrie was named Most Improved Junior Member and Dominic Kondra was the Most Improved Senior Member.

Preston Delorme received a belated award — being named Outstanding Club Member for the 2012/13 season.

The club thanked Julie Morriseau for all her diligent efforts in keeping the paperwork straight as the club’s secretary.

Several members marked advancements in rank and experience over the season including Abby Bell who received her first promotion of white yellow stripe. Hunter Parenteau was promoted to yellow – orange stripe.

Cooper Groves was promoted to orange belt while Isaac Sanders added a green stripe to his orange belt.  Jerrett Thibadeau was promoted to Sr. blue belt while his clubmate Jarod Burnell promoted to senior brown belt.

Earlier this season Darren Duhamel was promoted to first degree Shodan black belt.


Five gold medals at Kenora tournament

Dryden Judo club members marked some podium finishes at the Lake of the Woods Judo Tournament in Kenora, April 12.

The tournament featured approximately 100 competitors from Manitoba, Kenora, Dryden, Thunder Bay and Marathon.

Dryden judokas Jaydon Meawasige, Dominic Morriseau , Isaac Sanders, Jarod Burnell, and Richard Krause each grabbed the gold medal in their respective categories.

Josh Marion, Randy Trenholm, Dominic Kondra, Dustin Landrie, and Richard Krause won silver medals

Matthew Meawasige, Scott Schultz and Jarod Burnell took home bronze medals.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.