Latest posts by Chris Marchand (see all)
- For Pete’s Sake – 2018 Come Together Concert a tribute to late local musician - January 9, 2019
- DREAM project marks progress - April 25, 2018
- Northern Lights impressive - April 25, 2018
Members of the Dryden Camera Club rolled out of bed a little earlier than usual this past Saturday, driving through a misty, wet morning towards a unique opportunity on the outskirts of town.
The Wainwright Dam, just downstream of the Wabigoon River Bridge on Hwy. 17, opened its doors to the local shutterbugs revealing a wealth of compelling images within the powerhouse and its grounds.
Established in 1922, the dam at Wainwright Falls was one of four hydroelectric power projects built to provide the Dryden Mill site with electricity, including Eagle River Dam, MacKenzie Dam and another that previously existed just below the CPR tracks in Dryden.
Changing very little over nearly a century, The Wainwright Dam features many of its original components and kept photographers engaged with haunting, never before seen sights.